A Series of Obsessions…

The latest issue of Company Magazine has only just fallen through my letterbox and already I’ve read it cover to cover but one particular feature caught my attention. The headline asked ‘Have you got OSD?’

No, before your imaginations run away with you, OSD does not refer to a nasty condition nor it is an abbreviated euphemism, it does in fact refer to Obsessive Series Disorder.

OSD is pretty self explanatory, it happens when you love a TV series so much you watch it religiously and then when it’s done you buy the box set and watch it all over again. And again. No matter the series its something we all have to fess up to experiencing at some point. We’ve all been there, where you know the characters better than you know family members and you know the storylines so well you’re convinced they happened to you.

I’m not a big telly watcher and all the series that people seem to be loving I’ve usually never bloody heard of but OSD has definitely happened to me a few times.

As proof I tweeted this last week: Get far too excited when I see the #Downton advert.

Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 15.38.59

Oh yes, it’s that time of year again. Glorious autumn. New Downton Abbey time. Four years on from the very first episode and I’m nothing short of obsessed with this show.  Even while on holiday last year in Tenerife I refused to miss an episode, if that’s not dedication I don’t know what is. Surely its only a matter of days before the Abbey throws open its doors and welcomes us back into the lives and loves of its inhabitants. In roughly 8 weeks time you’ll be able to find me ordering the box set and mourning the ending of another series…

…and counting down the days to the Christmas episode.

Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 15.40.38

The story of my OSD doesn’t start with the upstairs aristocracy and their downstairs servants, instead it starts ten years ago over in One Tree Hill and at the age of 14 I was ripe for the picking. Nine box sets later I regularly start at season one and work my way through every school year, basketball game, relationship, fight and quote even though I’ve seen them all a hundred times before. Find out what else I blame OTH for here.

Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 15.40.59

The next series to bring out my OSD tendency was Lost. I mean who wouldn’t want to be stranded on a desert island with Dr Jack and Swayer? Trying to figure out how it was all going to end boggled the mind but there I was at 4 o’clock in the morning  watching the final episode which went out on American time. Like hell was I going to Sky+ it and find out how it ended after everyone else! Which reminds me, I need to finish watching all the DVDs for ooooo, the seventh time? 

Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 15.41.46

So far the last television series to really deserve my Obsessive Series Disorder is Criminal Minds. Never really one for American Crime shows this one just has something special. Google Matthew Gray Gubler and Shemar Moore if you don’t believe me. Thanks to this show I also harbour a secret wish to become a criminal profiler with the FBI. Well, you know, if this whole writing thing doesn’t work out. 

So there you have it. In answer to Company Magazines question I provide a resounding yes. These are series that caused my OSD.

Now that the nights are drawing in and there is soon to be a chill in the air what better time to go box set bonkers with a series you love? Curled up on the sofa with the fire on watching the shows you just cant get enough of. Sounds like a good autumn/winter pass time to me. 

What TV shows cause you to get all OSD? Girls, True Blood, Revenge? Gossip Girl, Sex and the City, Homeland? Downton, One Tree Hill, Lost? Let me know! Comment or tweet me to tell my why you love these shows and perhaps recommend a new series for me to get obsessed with, after all its going to be a long winter with nothing new to watch!

Right, I must dash, I’m making my way through Downton series three…

Jemm xoxo

Leave a comment

Filed under I just had to tell you this, Stuff thats interesting, Things I Love

Leave a comment in this box!

