Polish Post #12: Ombre Leopard Print

Ok, first of all let me apologise for the lack of posts lately but I have been busy with other bits and bobs. Every time I’ve sat down to write at my computer I’ve had other things to concentrate my efforts on. I have another quick Polish Post for you now and I will get back to writing proper posts asap. I promise this isn’t turning into a nail art blog! As soon as I get some time to sit and do a usual post I will.

Right, on to the Polish Post. This particular one can get rather messy so if you only have a few mins to paint your nails this probably isn’t the design for you. However it does look rather impressive so if you have a bit of time to spare then maybe you’d like to give it a go.

I used:

L-R: Essie Base Coat, Rimmel London Top Coat, Models Own Balearic Cool, Models Own Purple Passion, Models Own Bubblegum, Models Own Gold Rush, Models Own black Nail Art Pen, Wedge Make up Sponge.

I also used a dotting tool from a set I ordered off Amazon but I forgot to take a pic!Β 

I used strong bright colours as I thought it would look rather striking but you could use whatever colour combination you like.

So first of all I started off by applying some base coat, I then painted three coloured stripes directly onto my make-up sponge.

And here is where it starts to get messy! Once you have the colours on your sponge place it onto your nail and gently rock and press it down to transfer the polish onto your nail. Repeat this process on all of your nails (you will need to re-apply to polish to the sponge.) I’d say that once you have completed this process in order to get the density of colour you will probably have to repeat it for a second time.

As you can see there is not really a tidy way of doing this or a way to avoid getting it all around your fingers but don’t worry about that just yet as you can come back and clean around your nails once you have finished.

Let the polish dry then add a layer of top coat to protect the ombre effect.

 

Moving onto the next step, use your dotting tool (or a tooth pick or Q-tip if you don’t have one) place some different coloured dots (I chose gold) across the centre of each nail, like this:

Once these dots have mostly dried use your black nail art pen to go around them in a leopard print design, adding other leopard print shapes across the centre of your nails to fill in the space.

Give this nail art pen ten minutes to dry as putting top coat on after just a couple of mins will smudge the black polish and ruin the effect.When you’re good to go add a couple of layers of top coat to protect all your hard work!Β 

Now using a cotton bud dipped in nail polish remover go over the skin around your fingers to clean away all that messy polish. If you don’t manage to get all of it for fear of getting too close to your nails, wait until you’re all finished and dry then wash your hands with soap and warm water and this will remove any remaining access polish.

 

Jemm xoxo

P.s Like I said, once I get myself a little more organised posting will resume as normal!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Polish Post

One response to “Polish Post #12: Ombre Leopard Print

  1. These look so lovely. I never have the patience to make my nails all pretty. Normally just one coat then out the door! Great pictures x

Leave a comment in this box!

