Polish post #8: Dotty

This is the first time I’ve tried out this particular design and I have to say, I’m loving it! It’s something that looks totally different from a normal polish and you know you’re on to a winner when a design is this effective and this simple to achieve.

Anyone who has a set of dotting tools can create this look (if you haven’t go to Amazon, thats where I got mine but you can get them all over the place,) it really is so incredibly easy. All thats required is dipping your tools into some polish and dotting them on your nails. Simples!

My dotting tools

To make this design really stand out I used quite a few polishes, all in different colours:

L-R: Essie Nourishing Base Coat, Essie Lovie Dovie, Barry M Vivid Purple, Topshop Gone Fishing, Models Own Gold Rush, Essie Thigh High, Models Own Snow White, Models Own Fluro Orange, Models Own Bubblegum, Rimmel London Top Coat.

(Click on any of the images to make them larger)

To begin with I gave my nails two covers of Essie Base Coat to give the background of my nails a real shine, then taking my largest dotting tool I dipped it into Essie Lovie Dovie and placed it on my nails like this

And thats pretty much the basis of the technique right there! I then began to build up the dots using all the different sizes of my dotting tools, they really don’t have to be in any particular order. Next up was Barry M’s Vivid Purple, then Topshop’s Gone Fishing and Models Own Gold Rush.

I then kept filling up the empty spaces with Essie’s Thigh High, Models Own’s Snow White, Fluro Orange and Bubblegum.

It’s up to you how much coverage you go for and how many dots you put on, I was happy with leaving small gaps and letting my nail show through as I think this adds to the overall affect. I then gave my little masterpieces a couple of licks of top coat to really seal and shine the design.

And hey presto! You’re done. The reason I love this nail idea is that you can change it up and make it look different each time. On this occasion I went mad with the colours, picking all different hues, but what about trying a colour scheme? I also think it will be a long laster where chips won’t be that obvious as thats just the nature of the design, so it’s perfect if your nails need to look jazzy and perfect for a while.

Jemm xoxo

8 Comments

Filed under Polish Post

8 responses to “Polish post #8: Dotty

  1. Absolutely LOVE these Jemm 🙂 think I may try these before the galaxy nails..x

  2. wow im going to have to try that its so cool 🙂 xx

  3. this is so good, new follower, you look gorgeous btw xxx

  4. Love these! So cute 🙂 x

  5. This is gorgeous! I ordered a set like this last week – can’t wait to try something like this when they arrive!
    Nic x

Leave a comment in this box!

