4 Ways One Tree Hill ruined my life.

There’s only One Tree Hill and over the past 9 years I have been following the ups and downs, the good and the bad and the trials and tribulations of the inhabitants of this small North Carolina town.

It is of course a fictitious town filled with fictitious people but that’s irrelevant to my point right now.

I started watching OTH when I was 14 and have basically never stopped. I don’t normally watch American shows: Dawson’s Creek was a bit before my time, the OC was a little too American and Friends just went straight over my head (plus I hate those shows where you can hear the audiences canned laughter.) But for some strange and unexplainable reason One Tree Hill caught my attention, I liked the setting, I liked the stories and I liked the characters (the fact that it starred James Lafferty and Chad Michael Murray had absolutely nothing to do with it, nope).

Whenever I get bored or whenever the silence gets a little too loud I put on a OTH box set (I own them all,) and it makes me feel better, kinda like a modern day comfort blanket. It’s easy and familiar; I recognize the places, I know the drama and I’m friends with all the gang (Except maybe Dan. And Chris Keller.)

With One Tree Hill finally coming to an end this year after it’s ninth series (sob!) I thought I’d do a post to mark the end of an era.

Well. Well.

Because of One Tree Hill…

1.    I have come to realize that my own existence is, by comparison, totally boring.

To say that Tree Hill is only supposed to be a small town in North Carolina it sure has seen it’s fair share of dramas. Fallouts, break-ups and sibling rivalry are all a very normal part of growing up but if you’re a resident of Tree Hill hormones aren’t the only thing you’ve got to deal with: Absent/dead parents, school shootings, murders, psycho stalkers, student teacher affairs, drug addiction, car accidents, hit and run’s, heart defects, teenage marriage and pregnancy and a love hexagon + 1 (whatever the hell that is)…I could go on.

By the time the main characters graduate high school they’ve been through more than an average person goes through in their entire lifetime. When the credits start to roll your own life seems a bit dull.

2.    I think I am Brooke Davis.

Davis B.P is without a doubt my all time fave OTH character (played by Sophia Bush). An amalgamation of contradictions, she’s the girl you think you know until she surprises you and you realize that you don’t. Popular, pretty and talented but that’s not why I think I’m B. Davis.

I’m a sarcastic person by normal standards but when I get rolling I think I’m as quick witted and smart mouthed as, you guessed it, Brooke Davis. Her catty comebacks and witty one-liners are legendary. I need to remember that I am not.

3.    I have unrealistic expectations of life.

Because of OTH I carry around the feeling that I should, by now, be the editor of Company or Glamour. Hell thanks to this show and the accelerated lives of all it’s characters I should have graduated university (with a degree in journalism) and begun running my own magazine by now.

This feeling stems from the fact that Tree Hill is the home of numerous pop stars, a successful novelist, a pro sports player, a famous fashion designer, a record label executive, an actress, a film director, a photographer, a sports agent, a pilot and two presenters of morning television. These people achieved their dreams fresh out of university and all before they hit 24.

C’mon Tree Hill. Really?

All the main characters are also millionaires, they live in luxury mansions or apartments or beach houses and have met the man/woman of their dreams. They have gone on to get married and produce beautiful babies. Once again all before the grand old age of 24.

I happen to know that it’s not that easy. I’m 23, still unemployed and taking internships to gain experience, broke and still living with my parents. And I’m nowhere near to finding my Nathan Scott.

I’m sure that any day now Victoria White (the editor of Company) or Jo Elvin (Editor of Glamour) will be giving me a call to say they have that features writer job waiting for me. I’ll then have the money to buy my London townhouse and the opportunity to look for the perfect guy, I bet they’re ten a penny in London.

So ladies if you’re reading this, I’m free. Call me.

 4.    I think my life should play out to an epic soundtrack or moving quote.

If find it a little unfair that the residents of Tree Hill get to play out the important moments of their lives to cool music and inspirational words. By religiously watching the show I’ve come to expect the same treatment. I’m always left disappointed.

I don’t hear Gavin Degraw singing about how I don’t wanna be anything other than what I’ve been trying to be lately or Lucas Scott telling me that ‘There is a tide in the affairs of men…’

Life, I’m now speaking directly to you: Sort it out.  Something like:

Do not let your fire go out spark by irreplaceable spark, in the hopeless swamps of the approximate, the not quite, the not yet and the not at all. Do not let the hero in your soul perish in lonely frustration for the life you deserved but have never been able to reach. Check your road and the nature of your battle. The world you desire can be won. It exists, it is real, it is possible, it is yours– Ayn Rand,

Okay? Ta.

Ahhh One Tree Hill, you’ve totally screwed with my perception of life (in the nicest possible way.) On the flip side I’ve cried with the gang and smiled with them. The show taught me to live, laugh and love without hesitation and to dream without limitation. Goodbye and goodnight Tree Hill, you will be missed.

 

Jemm xoxo

P.s. Don’t forget the most important lesson of all courtesy of B. Davis: Clothes over bros bitches. Clothes over bros.

Leave a comment

Filed under Everybody's talking about..., I just had to tell you this, Stuff thats interesting

Leave a comment in this box!

