What’s mine is mine.

Here we go again, I can feel a rant coming on. For those of you that can’t handle it, take cover, for those of you that are used to it and can read on.

You know how it is. Every once in a while an issue comes along that really grates your cheese. Well today my cheese has been well and truly grated into fine, barley there strands. The issue I have is with people thinking they have a right to take things which don’t belong to them. Stealing. Theft. But I’m getting ahead of myself. Here’s how it went.

There I was in the Spar buying Creme Eggs and Worcester Sauce crisps (the staples for a healthy diet) when I spotted a cute dog outside. Being a dog lover I fussed the cocker spaniel on my way out. In conversation with his owner he told me something that shocked me and made me extremely angry. Apparently, last week the gentleman had tied his dog up outside the shop, popped in for two minutes only to come outside and find his dog had been stolen. Thankfully his pet was returned to him, unharmed a couple of days later by the police but he was informed that there had been a spate of dog nappings in the area. The police told him of one woman who had her labrador stolen and a few days later received a call from a vet to tell her the dog had been found but sadly had to be put down as it had been almost mauled to death. The heartless bleeders who were responsible for stealing the dogs had been using them as bait in dog fights.

WTF? What the hell is wrong with some people? How do they become so cruel? The village where I live and the surrounding villages are known to be relatively nice, safe places to live. But now it seems we have come to a point where you can’t even take your dog for a walk without the threat of someone stealing it. The gentleman that I spoke to said he was now too afraid to leave his dog unattended outside so he had to wait with his pet while he sent his granddaughter into the shop for the things he needed. What has the world come to when you can no longer tie the lead of your dog around a railing and nip in to your corner shop for a pint of milk without the fear of returning to find it gone? If this happened to me I would be devastated.

It appears to me that these days you can’t have sod all without someone wanting to take it from you. And this quite frankly p*sses me off. Those animals would have meant nothing to the insensitive ******** (insert own derogatory swear word here) who took them, but the world to their owners. In fact that’s not true. Those dogs meant money, drugs and alcohol to those thieves. These things mean so much that they were and are prepared to sacrifice the life of an animal and watch as it’s torn to pieces. It’s disgusting.

Setting your house alarm and locking your doors no longer protects your home. You can’t park your car on your own drive and assume it’s safe. It’s unadvisable to walk around with your mobile in your hands unless you want it stolen.

My contempt for such thieving low life is utterly ineffable. For the majority, the punishment for such crimes is a joke. They get a slap on the wrist and some community service or at the worst a minimal prison sentence. These criminals know there is no deterrent and that’s why they offend, and regardless of whether they get caught or not they will offend again and again. What really makes me laugh is that some of these shameless kleptomaniacs that are caught only serve a few weeks of their sentence due to ‘good behaviour.’ Talk about ironic; Alanis MorissetteΒ should have added a verse about that into her hit song. In some countries they cut the hands off thieves. A bit extreme but I’d like to see them steal with no hands. Maybe that would be deterrent enough. But should it really need to go so far to make people behave? What do honest, hard working people have to do to keep their belongings and property safe?

I know this might be a mind screwing concept but how about these people who have nothing better to do than hang around parks and shop fronts getting drunk and stoned actually get off their arses, get a job, earn their own money and buy their own things instead of taking other peoples belongings which they have no right to? I know, I know what a crazy idea right?

So listen up all you good for nothing Klepto’s think twice before robbing me. Because I will chop your hands off. You’ve been warned.

Here endeth the rant.

Thank you and goodbye.

*Takes a bow & leaves the room.*

Jemm xoxo

1 Comment

Filed under I just had to tell you this

One response to “What’s mine is mine.

  1. theresa

    Have to agree with you on all rants here !!!

Leave a comment in this box!

