New Year’s resolutions? Do one!

A week into the New Year and how many of them have gone down the swanny already? C’mon be honest. How many of you made them and broke them within a week? Only 7 days into 2011 and how many of you are failures already?

I’m talking about New Years resolutions of course.

I’m going to loose weight, I’m going to stop smoking, I’m going to stop spending money unnecessarily, I’m going to start healthy eating, I’m going to start a hobby, I’m going to become this or that, I’m going to do this or that, I’m going to go here or there, I’m going to…BLAH BLAH BLAH!

The only place your going this year is to hell in a hand cart for breaking them right?

WRONG!

I hate all this ‘new year, new you’ crap. Who thought that piling a shitload of pressure upon yourself was a great way to start a new year? Don’t we have enough on our plates already without making promises we know we’re unlikely to keep?

It goes like this: you make ’em, you break ’em then spend the next 364 days beating yourself up about it.

Why? Where’s the point in that?

I’m all for having goals and striving for them. That’s important. But God almighty no wonder there is such a thing as the January Blues. Christmas debt, back to work, bad weather and broken resolutions. And the people that have kept them have to deal with the pressure of sticking to them.

To some extent I can understand how one feels like they need to turn over a new leaf come the 1st January. Calendars are new, diaries are new and you want to fill them with positive things. But come the 2nd January ‘New Year’ becomes ‘this year’ and everything is back to normal. In twelve months time you’ll be doing it all again. I don’t understand why resolution makers wait until the 31st December to start changing their lives. What about the other 364 days of the year? If you want to do something, do it. If you want to stop doing something, stop. If you want to go somewhere, go. Why do you have to wait until a rousing chorus of Auld Lang Syne has been sung to be the person you want to be?

2010 was a complete disaster for me. Everything that could go wrong, did go wrong, so I know that 2011 is going to be a better year. To be frank, it couldn’t be any worse. But that doesn’t mean I’m going to spend January weighing myself down with expectations for the coming months. I’m just going to keep my fingers crossed. If the things that I want to happen,happen, then great. But if some of them don’t I’m not going to spend the back end of 2011 bemoaning the fact I’m an epic failure. I’ll just try again. Because that’s what it’s all about really isn’t it?

What also grates my cheese about New Years resolutions is that you not only have to cope with your own (or other people’s for none resolution makers like me) but you also have to deal with ‘celebrities’ who have gone from flab to fab by loosing half their body weight in a week, thanks to a new fitness regime which they have conveniently put on a DVD that carries the slogan “If I can do it, so can you!”

But they haven’t done it have they? They have had some surgeon suck their fat out through a tube and airbrushed themselves onto the cover of the DVD. You know at some point this year they will have gained back everything they ‘lost’ just in time to do another fitness DVD for New Year 2012. Crafty bleeders.

The funniest one I’ve seen so far is ‘Kerry Katona- Real Fitness’ I mean WTF? Is this actually serious? If she is the best role model you can find for your personal fitness and well being then I worry for you. I really do.

So let go of the pressure and expectations. Do you really need it? Take this year as it comes and enjoy it. If you want to eat chocolate, eat it. If you can’t be arsed to go to the gym, don’t. Lightning won’t strike you down.

So next New Years save yourself the effort, the pressure and the inevitable self-loathing and when someone at the party asks what resolution you’ve made tell them you haven’t bothered. But perhaps they could put get a life on their to do list.

Jemm xoxo

4 Comments

Filed under Stuff thats interesting

4 responses to “New Year’s resolutions? Do one!

  1. I suppose that reviewing what happened last year, and working out what you would like to do in the following year, is easier when you have to completely change your calendar or diary, rather than just turning the page over. However, no resolutions for me, just goals!

    Happy New Year, hope this one’s better for you than the last! x

  2. The same to you, Happy New year and good luck with it. Thanks for reading.

  3. theresa

    Happy New Year to you!! ha ha ha had a smile while i read this. I gave them up many moons ago. No point being doomed to failure as the as the promises to yourself dissolve into thin air.

  4. Kim Vann

    If I had a penny for every time I made a resolution, and failed miserably at it, I would have been a billionaire!! Even so I have made more this year. will I stick to them? I don’t know but God I want to!
    As you said, 2010 has been one hell of a year, and I agree. I think it’s time for a change.
    Loving the blogs, keep em coming jemm!

    Kim

Leave a comment in this box!

